Lush Cardigan … a work in progress

Lush Cardigan in Rainbow Heirloom SweaterI have knit a Vivid blanket, and a number of smaller projects in Rainbow Heirloom Sweater, but this Lush Cardigan project is the first adult sweater project that I am knitting just for me in my new yarn!

I’m making it in what is probably my favourite colourway – ‘favourite aunty’, a medium red with pink, brown, and some orangey undertones.  It’s a complex colour, but very subtle… and it makes me happy, which is the most important thing of course!

Rainbow Heirloom Sweater in 'favourite aunty'

Rainbow Heirloom Sweater in ‘favourite aunty’

My progress so far, in photos:

Lush Cardigan in Rainbow Heirloom Sweater

When making the Lush cardigan, the lace yoke band is knit first…

Lush Cardigan in Rainbow Heirloom Sweater

After the lace yoke band is complete, you block it to flatten it out, and reveal the lace pattern… I truly love blocking lace!

Lush Cardigan in Rainbow Heirloom Sweater

The yoke of the Lush cardigan in progress… just a few rows before the separation of body and sleeves.

Lush Cardigan in Rainbow Heirloom Sweater

The Lush cardigan at the separation of body and sleeve stitches – the sleeves stitches are put on hold on waste yarn, and underarm stitches are cast on using the backward loop cast on method. Now to start knitting the body…

I am planning to try something a little different with this knit.  Instead of knitting the sleeves from the top down (as described in the pattern), I cast on at the cuff, and knit the first sleeve in the round, simply reversing the shaping.  I also decided to knit full length sleeves, rather than the 3/4 length sleeves described in the pattern.

To join the sleeves to the body, I will work a few rounds from the underarm downward, and then use kitchener stitch to graft the live stitches from shoulder to the sleeve.

Lush Cardigan in Rainbow Heirloom Sweater

One sleeve is done, and the body is in progress… soon I will try to graft the two together and see how that works!

I decided to try this method because I like knitting sleeves one at a time from the cuff up… they are more portable, and seem (to me) to go more quickly when they aren’t attached to the body of the sweater.  Once the body is complete, I will make the attempt to graft one sleeve on, and decide whether it is a successful method, or not!

One thought on “Lush Cardigan … a work in progress

What do you think?

