Island – an ebook and yarn giveaway!

If you’re an avid knitter, you’ve probably come across the beautiful designs of Jane Richmond.  What you might not know is that she lives in and works on Vancouver Island – the same beautiful corner of the world where I was born and raised.

While developing the Nostalgia Club, and imagining designs which would work well with my yarns and story, and Jane’s book Island immediately came to mind.  Island really speaks to me; both for the clever and elegant designs, and for the superlative photography and styling.  For me, browsing through this collection was like taking a trip home to visit the most beautiful places on Vancouver Island.  It made me miss home!

Island by Jane Richmond

The five designs from Island

win a copy of ISLAND … and some beautiful yarn too!

Island by Jane RichmondJane has kindly agreed to sponsor a giveaway of her ebook Island, and I’ve chosen 3 beautiful skeins of Rainbow Heirloom yarn which would pair perfectly with these designs.  To enter, simply comment on this post, and let me know which design you would knit first.  For extra chances to win, enter on Instagram and Facebook too!  The lucky winner will be drawn on Sunday, July 26th at 8pm BST.

Which yarns have I picked for our lucky winner?

Arbutus cowl

A skein of RH Sweater in ‘fav aunty’ would be perfect to make an Arbutus cowl!

Strathcona Scarf

A skein of Rainbow Heirloom Twinkle light in ‘driftwood’, the exclusive July Nostalgia Club yarn would pair perfectly with the Strathcona Scarf.

Rathtrevor Mitts

A skein of RH Sweater in ‘cloudy sky’ would make a lovely pair of Rathtrevor mitts.

What have I been knitting lately?  I’m working on the Strathcona scarf from Island in Rainbow Heirloom Twinkle light in ‘driftwood’ – this is July’s Nostalgia Club yarn, and it is only available till the end of the month, so order now if you want some!

TwinkleLight-driftwood-strathcona-02

Strathcona Scarf

I’ve only just started, but I’m loving the rhythmic simplicity of this knit!

Nina, my friend and model for Tin Can Knits, has recently finished an exquisite Grace cardigan, also from Island.  It needs buttons, but even without them this is already her go-to hand knit cardigan.

Grace Cardigan

I love the lace panel that adds just enough interest to this simple, elegant cardigan.

Grace Cardigan

I’ve also recently finished a tiny Stovetop hat in Rainbow Heirloom Sweater in ‘driftwood’, this month’s Nostalgia club colour.  Each month has a featured base, but for a limited time you can order the club colourway on our most popular base, Sweater, too!

Stovetop in Rainbow Heirloom Sweater

Stovetop in Rainbow Heirloom Sweater in ‘driftwood’

So which design from Island would you knit first if you won this giveaway?  Leave your answer in the comments, and for more chances to win you can play on Instagram and Facebook too!

222 thoughts on “Island – an ebook and yarn giveaway!

  1. Rathtrevor! They look so cosy! Fav Aunty is such a great name for a colourway too. I think I’d smile everytime I looked at the yarn.

  2. Such beautiful designs, it’s hard to choose! But, I think I would start with the Grace cardigan – so classic! Thanks for the opportunity to win!

  3. I have been coveting the lovely Twinkle Light yarn, so would probably knit the Strathcona.
    Beautiful patterns and colors!

  4. I think I would knit Strathcona first – but I definitely would be knitting other projects from this collection. I have been wanting to experience Rainbow Heirloom yarns as well…thanks

  5. I’ve already made Arbutus (for my fave auntie even!) and two Renfrews, but still aspire to make the rest of the patterns in the book. Maybe Strathcona next?

  6. Well, I’ve been knitting for a lot of years and never tried a lace project. Strathcona looks like a great pattern to start that first project. Love all of the yarn colors and Driftwood is a beautiful color that will be well worn as it will go with everything. It also reminds me of growing up on the Island.

What do you think?

