July Club Colourway :: Roseberry Daze

HOME FROM HOME: COLOURS THAT SPEAK OF HOME

“We may roam far and wide before we see. A finer sight than here from Rosebury”

— from a sonnet by George Tweddell 1870.

28129_609622130572_4085047_n (1)

The distinctive view of Roseberry Topping on the North Yorkshire Moors

This month’s colourway is inspired by my memories of the intense and varied greens of the North East England landscape. Roseberry Topping (the name itself is something I’ve always loved) is a short, but challenging, climb which rewards you with spectacular panoramic views of the surrounding countryside. It’s a walk I’ve done many times since my childhood (I even have vague memories of my parents attempting the less challenging sections with my little brother in a pushchair — a sight which always elicited some surprised looks from the passing, fully kitted-out hikers!). The carpet of bluebells in the woods at the start of the trek, the tiny bridges and waterfalls, the kissing gate (I’ll admit, I still suppress a childish giggle at that name), wildlife, and stone paths, all made it feel like something out of a fairytale. My visits as an adult have always been steeped in nostalgia for those childhood adventures, and I find a new magic in it every time I return.

Roseberry

So many gorgeous colours! 

Oh, and the inevitable “car picnics” that followed the climb, when the British weather didn’t allow us to sit outside for our sandwiches, have become a long-standing family tradition. When I visit home, the mention of “a trip out and a car picnic” fills me with excitement, much to the amusement of my partner Ross!

ROSEBERRY DAZE ON RH TWINKLE DK

This month’s yarn is a complex, layered green, with earthy undertones. It’s a colour which shimmers, like my memories of the landscape which was its inspiration.

IMG_4230

“roseberry daze” on RH twinkle DK

 

The featured base this month is Twinkle DK, one of my softest and most luxurious yarns!

Rainbow Heirloom TWINKLE DK
weight: DK
content: 50% superwash merino, 50% silk
yardage: 230 yds (210 m) per 100 g skein
needles: 3.5 to 5.0 mm (US 4-8)
gauge: 20 – 24 sts = 10 cm (4”)

 

I love how this yarn sparkles and shines, and really highlights the beauty of this colourway. It’s a great yarn for lace, because each stitch has great definition and clarity. Our Twinkle yarns are perfect for accessories and lightweight garments, and it’s SO soft that it can be worn next to the skin by the most sensitive of knitters.

This limited edition yarn is available now! Head over to the shop, where you can purchase one or more skeins of this gorgeous colourway, OR get 3 or 6 month subscriptions to guarantee more delicious club yarns at discounted rates!

A chance to win

July Giveaway

For a chance to win a skein of this month’s club yarn in a prize draw, head over to instagram for details of how to enter!

What do you think?

