Twinkle, Twinkle, Flax Light

IMG-20170804-WA0002

Wardrobe basics: Flax Light by Tin Can Knits

One of my goals this year has been to create a more thoughtful handknit wardrobe. I’ve been knitting for quite a few years now, but somehow I only have a very small collection of actually wearable items that fit into my everyday life. I’ve been inspired in no small part by seeing all of your beautiful knitwear out in the wild, at EYF, Yarndale, or Pomfest. I come home from these events with a desire to immediately cast on all of the sweaters and all of the cardigans and all of the shawls!  In harnessing that inspiration, whilst putting a little extra thought into what I really want to wear, I’ve been making some pretty great additions to my knitting collection.

FB_IMG_1500998191245

The perfect wardrobe staple in a “rockstar” colour!

Flax Light, from the Tin Can Knits Simple Collection, is my most recent finished sweater. This was such a satisfying knit. I’d been thinking about a really basic sweater to show off some fabulous yarn, and this straightforward design was just perfect.

When Max was born, Emily made the tiniest, most adorable Flax Light in Rainbow Heirloom Twinkle Light (in the “apparition” colourway)… well, I wanted a grown-up version for me! It took me a little while to settle on a colour (“koala haircut?”, “wicked pacific?!”), but in the end it had to be “princess rockstar.” It’s just so fun.

Twinkle Light is a gorgeous blend of merino and silk. The finished sweater is so lightweight and feels beautifully soft against the skin. Perfect for a Scottish summer! I’ll be putting some Twinkle Light in the shop update this week. I’ve chosen some of my favourite colourways, and they all really sparkle on this base… Perhaps you’d like to make your own Flax Light?

RHTwinkleLight-shop

Twinkle, twinkle, which one will you choose?

Rainbow Heirloom TWINKLE LIGHT
weight: 4-ply / sock weight yarn
content: 50% superwash merino, 50% silk
yardage: 400 yds (365 m) per 100 g skein
needles: 2.25 to 4.0 mm (US 1-6)
gauge: 24 – 30 sts = 10 cm (4”)

What do you think?

